Indie Review: R.I.P. by Threatpoint

TL;DR Haiku Review:

“Not a metal fan, but I got into this band, you should download it”

The first submission I have received is: RIP by Threatpoint.

Disclaimer: This is not a PR puff piece.  I agreed to review Threatpoint but I was not  compensated in any way for doing so.

First a Little Background Directly From the Band:

Threatpoint is a groove metal band based out of Scranton Pennsylvania. Formed in early 2012 from the demise of other bands that shared the stage many times over. Fast forward 2016, with two full length albums and hundreds of shows across the United States, founding members Chris James (vocals) CJ Krukowski (drums) and Alex Olivetti (guitar) have kept the fire burning alive and well.

Rounding out the bands current lineup is Matthew Van Fleet (bass). Together now stronger than ever, the five have recorded their third full length album and a bonus 8 song acoustic album as well.

Tastefully drawing from a diverse spectrum of influences, all five of the members have strong writing skills and creative input. You will hear remnants of Classic Rock, Power Metal, Thrash Metal and straight up driving Hard Rock. On an occasion you can find a sprinkle of Death Metal and European influence within their musical smorgasbord.

Still searching for a label to extend their helping hand Threatpoint drives on full speed ahead on their own strength and dollar flooding the underground music scene.”

Review:

No sense in sugar coating it, I have a serious blind spot when it comes to metal.  I have a hard time taking it seriously because a lot of bands sound like what a low budget horror movie looks like.  Not to say that there aren’t things to like about the many -metal genres, but I am usually turned off by the campiness of the whole thing.

That being said, I took time to review this album to get beyond whatever inate bias I might have against this “groove metal” band.  I am glad I listened through and took a few days off before trying again because Threatpoint really grew on me.

What I liked:

I assumed that the “groove” in groove-metal meant that this band has a lot of musical meat on its bones, and that assumption proved true.  What I like about this album is that you can hear elements of hard-core punk, metal, and other aggressive/loud/fast genres but that those things never become distracting.  The contrasts in “Bury the Wicked” are certainly a highlight on this album.  The music is well done and also, I have to say that I appreciate the band’s use of introspective lyrics.

What I didn’t like:

I don’t really have much to complain about with this album.  I don’t think I will ever be really into the metal growl vocals.  To Threatpoint’s credit, it is a subdued part of their sound and didn’t bother me.

Should you Download it?

After several listen throughs, I would defintely recommend adding Threatpoint to your music library.  RIP is a very solid independent release and, you don’t have to be really into metal to appreciate it.

Show Threatpoint some love.

 

Leave a Reply

