Via Bandcamp: the Menzingers “After the Party”

TL;DR Haiku:

“New Jersey emo, they don’t sound like Bruce Springsteen, a solid album”

Look what has come around again:

The Menzingers just released a new album and it will probably sound somewhat familiar to you, not that there is anything wrong with that.  The Menzingers give me an aural-recall to early-Aughts emo bands like Further Seems Forever (with the original line-up) and countless others from the late 90’s through 2000-something.

Personally, in the choruses especially, I also hear some early Jimmy Eat World.  I don’t get the Bruce Springsteen comps that I have seen thrown around, but I imagine that comp is pushed on every band from New Jersey at least once.ersonally, in the choruses especially, I also hear some early Jimmy Eat World.  I don’t get the Bruce Springsteen comps that I have seen thrown around, but I imagine that comp is pushed on every band from New Jersey at least once.

While the Menzingers don’t do anything to change your life, most bands don’t either, so don’t be such a music-snob for once, Straw Man.  The songs on this album are upbeat (at least musically), well produced, and catchy.  I dare you not to like these songs almost immediately.  It’s a well put together album and I can see why this band is getting some recent buzz with this release.   I’ll be interested to see what kind of staying power they have in my personal rotation after several listens.

For $8 for a digital copy of “After the Party” on Bandcamp:https://themenzingers.bandcamp.com/album/after-the-party, I’d say do it.

https://themenzingers.bandcamp.com/album/after-the-party, I’d say do it.

 

 

 

One thought on “Via Bandcamp: the Menzingers “After the Party”

Leave a Reply

